poetry: *untitled*

they treat me like crap.

and i don’t know if it’s because

my hair isn’t straight enough for them.

or maybe it’s because my skin is too brown.

one time, i thought it was because the

circumference of my lips were too big.

i talked different, too. let the “er” of my words

slide off the tip of my tongue too easily. didn’t

care about it either. lazy, they would say. ignorant

and too loud. they say we’re all alike.

just a bunch of misfits listening to our god forsaken

rap. and they wonder how many words can

we rhyme with, “bitch.” hoodlums, they say. we’re all

just worried about our rep, like our rep was our only

religion. like religion was only a distraction. they’re wrong though.

too worried about what they think we are, to

see what we’re we really are. and what we are – is human.

*untitled* by lj hughes

Leave a comment